Everest Base Camp Gokyo Lakes Trek via Cho La Pass

Everest Base Camp Gokyo Lakes Trek via Cho La Pass

The Everest Base Camp Gokyo Lakes Trek is one of the high passes in the Khumbu Region of eastern Nepal. Cho La Pass Trek is one of the alternative routes to Everest Base Camp. Along with Kongma La (5535m) and Renjo La (5360m), Chola makes three high passes. The trail connects three major Khumbu destinations: Gokyo Lakes, Cho La, and Everest Base Camp. Hence, offering a complete trek experience with insight into the culture, lifestyle, and tradition of the indigenous Sherpa tribe, the trekking route of the Gokyo Chola Pass trek guarantees a sublime trek experience.

Also known as the Gokyo Chola Pass Trek, the 18-day affair begins upon your arrival in Kathmandu with a full-day tour of the historical city. Afterward, you’ll take a scenic flight to Lukla in the Solukhumbu district. The itinerary of the Chola Pass Trek takes you through the renowned Sherpa villages of Phakding, Namche Bazaar, Tengboche, Chhukung, and Lobuche before walking up to Kalapatthar (5545m) and Everest Base Camp (5364m).

The trek takes a different route and traverses west to the village of Gokyo via Cho La Pass (5360m). Gokyo is a quaint village located on the bank of Dudh Pokhari Lake (Gokyo Lake). A revered site, many pilgrims walk to Gokyo to offer prayers every year. Cho La Pass on Everest is one of the highest passes in the region. The vantage point from these provides a complete panorama of the valley along with the beautiful scenery of Mount Everest (8848m), Lhotse (8414 m), Makalu (8463m), Cho Oyu (8188m), and Lhotse-Shar (8393m). You will also cross another high pass, Renjo La (5360m), before heading towards Namche and back to Lukla.

The people inhabiting the Khumbu Region are the Sherpa people, who enjoy a unique culture, language, and tradition. An amateur trekker may find the Chola Pass trek more challenging than other treks in Nepal. Chola Pass Trekking in Nepal is most accessible during the spring (Mar–Jun) and autumn (Sep–Nov).

E-mail me when people leave their comments –

You need to be a member of Tripatini to add comments!

Join Tripatini