The Everest Base Camp trek is a popular and challenging trekking route in Nepal. It takes you to the base camp of Mount Everest, the world's highest peak, and offers stunning views of the surrounding Himalayan mountains. The trek usually begins and ends in Lukla, a small town in the Everest region.

The trek to Everest Base Camp typically takes around 12-14 days, depending on the itinerary and the pace of the trekker. It involves moderate to strenuous hiking, as you will be walking on rugged terrains and ascending to high altitudes. The maximum elevation reached during the trek is around 5,364 meters (17,598 feet) at Everest Base Camp itself.

Along the way, you'll pass through beautiful Sherpa villages, Buddhist monasteries, and picturesque valleys. You'll also get to experience the unique Sherpa culture and hospitality. The highlights of the trek include Namche Bazaar (the gateway to the Everest region), Tengboche Monastery, Dingboche, Lobuche, and finally, reaching Everest Base Camp.

Now, regarding the Chola Pass, it is an optional extension to the Everest Base Camp trek. The Chola Pass is a high mountain pass situated at an altitude of 5,420 meters (17,782 feet) in the Khumbu region of Nepal. Crossing the pass involves steep ascents and descents, as well as walking on glaciers, making it a challenging and technically demanding section of the trek.

The Chola Pass adds a few more days to the overall trek duration and requires proper acclimatization and preparation. It is recommended for experienced trekkers who are physically fit and have prior high-altitude trekking experience. The pass offers breathtaking views of mountains like Ama Dablam, Cho Oyu, and several others.

Please note that trekking in the Everest region, including the Everest Base Camp and Chola Pass, requires a permit, and it is essential to be well-prepared, physically fit, and aware of altitude-related risks. It is always advisable to trek with a licensed guide or join a reputable trekking agency to ensure safety and to make the most out of your trekking experience.


Day 1: Fly from Kathmandu to Lukla (2,800m/9,184ft) and trek to Phakding (2,652m/8,700ft).

Day 2: Trek from Phakding to Namche Bazaar (3,440m/11,286ft).

Day 3: Acclimatization day in Namche Bazaar (3,440m/11,286ft).

Day 4: Trek from Namche Bazaar to Tengboche (3,870m/12,694ft).

Day 5: Trek from Tengboche to Dingboche (4,410m/14,468ft).

Day 6: Acclimatization day in Dingboche (4,410m/14,468ft).

Day 7: Trek from Dingboche to Lobuche (4,940m/16,207ft).

Day 8: Trek from Lobuche to Gorak Shep (5,170m/16,961ft), and then hike to Everest Base Camp (5,364m/17,598ft). Return to Gorak Shep for overnight stay.

Day 9: Hike from Gorak Shep to Kala Patthar (5,545m/18,192ft) for sunrise views, and then trek to Dzongla (4,830m/15,850ft).

Day 10: Trek from Dzongla to Thagnak (4,700m/15,420ft) via Chola Pass (5,420m/17,782ft).

Day 11: Trek from Thagnak to Gokyo (4,750m/15,584ft).

Day 12: Explore Gokyo and hike to Gokyo Ri (5,357m/17,575ft) for panoramic views.

Day 13: Trek from Gokyo to Dole (4,038m/13,248ft).

Day 14: Trek from Dole to Namche Bazaar (3,440m/11,286ft).

Day 15: Trek from Namche Bazaar to Lukla (2,800m/9,184ft).

Day 16: Fly from Lukla back to Kathmandu.

You need to be a member of Tripatini to add comments!

Join Tripatini