Sitting atop the highest of the capital´s various hills, this grandiose pile was home to the rulers of the pre-colonial kingdoms of Merina and later Madagascar from 1610 to 1896 (and of course underwent many changes and enlargements over the centuries). It was destroyed in a fire in 1995 but has been largely restored (with assistance from the likes of UNESCO), and is open to the public with exhibitions on the history of the kingdoms.
Madagascar Tourisme
Comments